John Power swearing in as the new President of the Florida Tax Collector's Association

John Power, Installed as President of the Florida Tax Collector’s Association.

As of 9/01/2020 we are pleased to announce that John Power was installed as the President of the Florida Tax Collectors Association, the statewide association representing 67 tax collectors throughout the state of Florida. He previously served as Vice President and the Secretary of Education. Alachua County Clerk of the Court, Jess Irby, performed the swearing-in ceremony for Mr. Power and the other officers of the board.

We celebrate this honorable appointment and are proud of his leadership!

Image of Tax Collector Staff

Tax Collector’s Office Wins Statewide Legacy Award for Financial Excellence for Four Consecutive Years!

For the fourth consecutive year, our office has earned the Legacy Award for Continued Excellence in Financial Operations. “Receiving the Legacy Award four years in a row is truly an honor and a testament to our dedicated staff”, states Tax Collector, John Power. “They work tirelessly to not only ensure accurate financial records, but to explore and implement new ways to automate processes and increase efficiency; all while saving taxpayer dollars and ensuring timely and accurate disbursements. I am extremely proud of them, they are deserving of this great award.”

Download/View Press Release


Alachua County Tax Collector Honored